Warner-led Australia to bat first in T20

After the One Day International Series win against Australia team, India takes on Australia in the first T20 match at JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi which is the home ground for our former Indian Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Even a change of format hasn't been able to stop Australia's batting collapses, with India easily chasing down a reduced target in the rain-curtailed first T20 worldwide. Chahal's victim was Glenn Maxwell who punched it straight to Bumrah at short midwicket. Gone. Australia 3 down.

India started off on a good note as pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar sent back skipper David Warner (8) in the first over itself. You can also check out CricketNext's LIVE blog for all the with score card and all latest action from the match including live scores online, ball-by-ball commentary and analysis.

The dismissal of Glenn Maxwell, who added 47 with Finch, halted Australia's all-too-brief charge.

While speculations were rife that the right-hander might even partner Warner at the top of the order, wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Paine maintained that the Aaron Finch-Warner combination is likely to remain untouched.

Australia lost the just-concluded ODI series against India 1-4 where Smith himself struggled to make an impact, scoring 142 runs in the five matches.

Shikhar Dhawan returned to the side after missing the ODIs to attend to his ailing wife while Kuldeep Yadav took up the spot of the second spinner instead of Axar Patel.

Untroubled by the dismissal, fellow opener Dhawan and Kohli smacked the ball all over the park to help India seal a comprehensive victory.

Stand-in skipper David Warner made eight, while the injured Steve Smith ran the drinks and will return to Australia on Sunday. The 38-year-old's his death bowling ability will be a welcome mix to the Bhuvneshwar Kumar-Jasprit Bumrah axis.

All-rounders Dan Christian and Moises Henriques have joined the squad for the T20 series.

Lokesh Rahul didn't get a chance during the ODI's but he can be expected to come into the XI in place of either Manish Pandey or Kedar Jadhav while India will continue to test the Aussie resolve against wrist spinners by playing both, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Latest News