Six Cong MPs suspended from Lok Sabha for 'unruly behavior'

Mallikarjun Kharge

Six Cong MPs suspended from Lok Sabha for 'unruly behavior'

Congress president Sonia Gandhi was in the House. The party's leader in the Lok Saha, Malikarjun Kharge said this morning, "Without any reason six of our MPs have been suspended".

When the House re-assembled around 1430 hrs, Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai, who was in the Chair, said Members named have to withdraw themselves from the House.

The lawmakers, G Gogoi, K Suresh, Adhiranjan Chowdhary, Ranjeet Ranjan, Sushmita Dev and MK Raghavan, were protesting the issue of the lynching of minorities by cow vigilantes.

Some of these members had picked up papers from the Lok Sabha secretariat staffers' table and had torn and thrown them, Mahajan said.

The Opposition members demanded the Prime Minister Narendra Modi's presence to discuss the incidents of lynching in the name of cow protection.

They did not stop despite her repeated requests to them to return to their seats and instead, indulged in the improper conduct, she said, while adjourning the House till 2.30 PM. With many MPs resorting to slogan-shouting in the House, Congress floor leader Mallikarjun Kharge appealed to the Speaker to revoke the suspension by arguing such things, as throwing papers happened "in the heat of the moment".

Alleging that Ms Mahajan acted under pressure from the ruling BJP, Mr Kharge also invoked former Speaker Meira Kumar, who was fielded by opposition parties this year against Mr Kovind for the post of President. In July 2015, she suspended 25 Congress MPs for five days for causing disruption.

Opposition members, however, insisted on a discussion on the issue, saying they were not being allowed to raise it in the House.

She said they undermined the chair's dignity and after announcing her decision, the Speaker adjourned the House for half and hour till 2,30 pm and thereafter for the whole day.

In his long political career spanning close to five decades, Mukherjee remained a member of the Rajya Sabha for four times and was elected twice to Lok Sabha.

Latest News